Bug-137822(a little progress)

Thanks for the help from Nabeel. I guess that I do something wrong. I guess I run the program from RCP, and I debug some code within WTP. That’s why I didn’t hit the break point. Anyway I post it, as I think both my mistake and my right way may provide some help to somebody else.  Person who read my blog won’t make the same mistake as me.

Even though my professor Jordan explain something about RCP and WTP and I can run my program from RCP which the target platform is WTP, I still don’t know what’s the difference between WTP and RCP. So far what I know is that WTP includes more plugings,  I really don’t know why I must use RCP instead of WTP which I can get the source files by using CVS as well. Anyway I must follow teacher’s way which I am pretty sure that it’s right.

If somebody can explain the reason for me, I will appreciate very much for that.

10 Responses to Bug-137822(a little progress)

  1. Peter Liu says:

    Hi, Shelley.

    See if IBM the speaker tomorrow woudl address your quesetion. If you have time, would you like to comment
    Davoud’s posting regarding the usefulness of blogging.

    Peter.

  2. Davoud says:

    Hi Shelley,

    I see that you have already added your name and address to the opensource@seneca planet, but your blog posts don’t appear there.

    After some investigation! : ) I found out that the reason is that your posts are not categorized. You can create an “open source” category and assign your posts to this category so they get picked up by the Planet script.

    Thanks for your comment on my blog post about whether or not blogging is difficult and useful of course.

    btw re RCP and WTP, WTP is used by developers to create Java EE or related Web applications. It has lots of plug-ins and features useful for developers (end-users). But RCP also referred to as Plug-In is used for creating and of course fixing plug-ins for the WTP environment.

    In other words, we use RCP/Plug-in Development Environment, to create and maintain WTP which is used by deelopers to create Java EE applications.

    In a way, we put together a machine which is then used in a factory to create several end products.

    Makes sense?

    I hope so : )

    Davoud

  3. shelleyshi says:

    Hi Davoud,

    Thank you a lot. See:) I already got the answer from you just one day after I posted what I wanted to know on my blog. It’s very efficient, right? I even got more — I already changed the categorize, and let’s see Planet will pick me up or not. I already found that you already posted lots of materials on your blog. I will look through all the details and try to find something which may be useful for me.

    Thank you very much, and all the best.

  4. […] while her feed address is looking for the category “open source”. I posted a comment on her blog and she’s already had it fixed. But because the procedure was not very clear to me either at […]

  5. Kevin Vu says:

    Hi Shelley,
    Just want to join the discussion on Eclipse WTP and RCP :). From my understanding:
    -RCP that you mentioned is short for Rich Client Platform. I think, when we prefer to RCP, we prefer to the framework, the architecture not the “tool”. The Eclipse that we use to fix Eclipse WTP’s bugs is actually called: “Eclipse for RCP/Plugins Developers”. It means, this Eclipse is for developers to develop Plugins and Rich Client Platform (RCP) applications.
    -As Davoud mentioned, Eclipse WTP is for developing web apps and Java EE apps. And, it is actually comprised of an IDE and plugins (consider Eclipse WTP are plugins). So, to fix or develop it we use “Eclipse for RCP/Plugins Developers”.

    -Due to its long name of “Eclipse for RCP/Plugins Developers”, Jordan and us agreed to came up with a shorter name for it to ONLY use in class which is “Eclipse Plugin”. That name is not available to the rest of the world and would cause confusion. So, I think it is best when we blog, we use it’s fullname: Eclipse for Plugins/RCP Developers :D.

  6. Davoud says:

    Hi Shelley

    You’re welcome. I’m glad I could help.

    There’s a little trick: if you want any of your posts which you have already made but not appeared on planet to get on the planet, change the publish date of the post to some time in future perhaps even a few minutes from current time! : ) That way perhaps more people will see your post and may be able to offer help if needed.

    good luck

    Dvaoud

  7. Davoud says:

    Just wanted to say that there is no need to change the publish dates – your posts have made it to the planet.

  8. Shelley says:

    I still didn’t see any of my blogs posted on the planet.

  9. Peter Liu says:

    You may email chris.tyler@senecac.on.ca if you still
    cannot find your postings on the Open Source @Seneca Planet.

  10. Davoud says:

    I didn’t notice you have posted a comment; I wasn’t notified.

    Your blog posts ARE on the planet. You have to scroll down to see them as they are listed by date.

    You can also search the page through your browser’s search (ctrl+f)

    or just post a testing… count 1 to 10 post : )

Leave a Reply

